Faculty Committees for 2021-2022

March 24, 2022

Dates in parentheses indicate when term of service ends.

Faculty Governance Committees

Committee on Appointments, Promotion and Tenure

Faculty:

Laura Henry **chair** Fall 2021 (June 2023)

Hadley Horch (June 2023)

Belinda Kong (June 2022)

Arielle Saiber (June 2023)

Daniel Stone (June 2023)

Ex officio:

Jennifer Scanlon, Senior Vice President and Dean for Academic Affairs

Committee on Governance and Faculty Affairs

Faculty:

Oyman Basaran (June 2023) Mark Battle (June 2023), chair Allison Cooper (June 2023) Michael Franz (June 2022)

Brian Purnell (June 2023)

Emma Maggie Solberg (June 2022)

Ex officio:

Jennifer Scanlon, Senior Vice President and Dean for Academic Affairs Clayton S. Rose, President

Other Roles

Scott Sehon, Faculty Parliamentarian (June 2022) Emma Maggie Solberg, Faculty Moderator (June 2022) Jeanne Bamforth, Clerk of the Faculty

Curricular Committees

Curriculum and Educational Policy Commito Dallas Denery (June 202) Paul Franco (June 2023) Aaron Kitch (June 2022) Fernando Nasc (June 2023) Kana Takematsu (June 2022)

Students: Patrick Bloniasz '22 Caroline Poole '22 Hannah Scotch (alt.) '22

Ex officio: Martina Duncan, Registrar

Appeals, Grievances, Misconduct Committees

Faculty Appeals and Grievances Committee

Faculty:

Ericka Albaugh (June 2022) Connie Chiang (June 2022) Rachel Connelly (June 2022), **chair** Charles Dorn (June 2024) Crystal Hall (June 2023) Emily Peterman (June 2023)

Conduct Review Board (formerly the Judicial Board and Student Sexual Misconduct Board)

Todd Berzon (June 2023)

Vlad Douhovnikoff (June 2023)

Ann Kibbie (June 2024)

Suzanne Lovett (June 2023)

Students:

Jonas Eichenlaub '22, Chair

Brigita Kant '22, Vice Chair

Journey Browne '22

Ty Diaz '22

Andrew Merrell '22

Jeremiah Brown '23

Sarah Evans '23

Khalil Jackson '23 (Study Away Fall 2021)

Colby Santana '23

Cloe Tarlton '23

Peyton Tran '23

Hannah Kim '24

Masmo Miyakawa '24

Hayden Redelman '24

Josie Tidmore '24

Ex officio:

Dean of Students or designee

Student Appeals Committee

Faculty:

Thomas Baumgarte (June 2024)

Rachel Beane (June 2024)

Jens Klenner (June 2024)

Vineet Shende (June 2023)

Students:

Andy Stoneman '23

Angela Wallace '22

Ex officio:

Janet Lohmann, Senior Vice President and Dean for Student Affairs, chair

Oversight: College Life Committees

Accessibility Task Force

Students: Di Phung '24 Isabel Ball '22

Oversight: Research and Safety Issues

Chemical Hygiene Committee

Faculty:

Ben Gorske (June 2024)

Staff:

Rene Bernier, Manager of the Bowdoin Science Center and Laboratory Safety, **chair** Kenneth Dennison,

Institutional Review Board (IRB)

* = voting member

Faculty:

- *Matthew Klingle (June 2023), chair
- *Alison Miller (June 2022)
- *Sue O'Dell, Science Librarian (June 2024)
- *Doris Santoro (June 2024)

Staff.

Cara Martin-Tetreault, Director of Sponsored Research Emily Murphy, IRB Administrator and Academic Department Coordinator for Chemistry Eric Berube, Information Technology Security Officer

Others:

- *Dave Nadeau (2024), community member
- *Anita Ruff (2024), community member

Radiation Safety Committee

Faculty:

Thomas Baumgarte (June 2022), **chair** Christopher Chong (June 2024) Rachel Beane (June 2024)

Staff:

Rene Bernier, Manager of the Bowdoin Science Center and Laboratory Safety Martha Mixon, Instrument Support Technician

Ex officio:

Charly Wojtysiak, Director of Environmental Health and Safety

Working Group for 2021-2022

Working Group on Pre-Major Advising

Faculty: Marilyn I

Marilyn Reizbaum Shreyas Sreenath Karen Topp, **co-chair** Tricia Welsch

Staff:

Kristina Bethea Odejimi, Dean of Students, **co-chair** Melissa Quinby, Associate Dean of Students/Dean of First-Year Students Jessica Perez, THRIVE Director Rebecca Banks, Academic Department Coordinator for History Martina Duncan, Registrar, as needed

Working Group on Teaching with Technology

Faculty:

Cibele Freire
Eileen Johnson
Patrick Rael, co-chair

Staff:

Sherri Braxton, Senior Director for Digital Innovation, **co-chair**Juli Haugen, Digital Content and Accessibility Specialist
Jennifer Snow, Educational Research Consultant
Katie Byrnes, Director of the Baldwin Center for Learning and Teaching

Representatives to the Trustee Resources Committee

Faculty:

Dallas Denery (June 2022)

Student:

Anna Constantine '23 Luke Bartol (alt.) '23

Representatives to the Trustee Student Experience Committee

Faculty:

Robert Sobak (June 2022)

Student:

Katalina Echavarri '24 Miranda Baker (alt.) '24

Representatives to the Trustee Subcommittee on Honors

Faculty:

Stephen Majercik (June 2023) Andrew Rudalevige (June 2022)

Other Roles

Faculty Representative to the Alumni Council

Faculty:

Sarah McMahon (June 2022)

Interdisciplinary Program Committees for 2021-2022

Asian Studies

Christopher Heurlin (*Program Director*), Hiroo Aridome, Sakura Christmas, Xiaoke Jia, John Kim, Belinda Kong, Henry Laurence, Aki Nakai, Claire Robison, Vyjayanthi Ratnam Selinger, Rachel Sturman, Shu-chin Tsui, Peggy Wang (on leave), Jing Xie

Biochemistry

Benjamin Gorske (*Program Director*), Danielle Dube (on leave), Aimee Eldridge, Kate Farnham, Bruce Kohorn, Anne McBride, Stephanie Richards, Kana Takematsu

Environmental Studies (core ES faculty indicated in **bold**)

Connie Chiang (*Program Director*), Philip Camill, David Carlon, Frank Goodyear, Laura Henry, Guillermo Herrera, Eileen Sylvan Johnson, Patricia Jones (on leave), Susan Kaplan, Matthew Klingle, Michael Kolster, Erik Nelson, Kristi Olson, Jill Pearlman, Mary Rogalski, Allen Springer, Samia Shabnam Rahimtoola (on leave), Shana Starobin (on leave), Brandon Tate, Dharni Vasudevan, Anthony Walton

Cinema Studies

Tricia Welsch (*Program Director*), Aviva Briefel, Allison Cooper, Elena Cueto-Asín, Birgit Tautz (on leave fall semester), Shu-chin Tsui

Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies

Marilyn Reizbaum (*Program Director*), Margaret Boyle, Judith Casselberry, Nadia Celis (on leave), Rachel Connelly, Shenila Khoja-Moolji (on leave), Abigail Killeen, Angel Matos, Jill Smith, Joseph "Jay" Sosa

Latin American, Caribbean, and Latinx Studies

Margaret Boyle (Program Director), Germán Cárdenas-Alaminos, Nadia Celis (on leave), Ireri Chávez-