Bowdoin College

Faculty Committees for 2023-2024

April 19, 2024 Dates in parentheses indicate when term of service ends.

Institutional Committee

Workday Student Campus Transition Committee (CTC)

Faculty: Aviva Briefel (June 2026) David Byrd (June 2026) Adam Levy (June 2026 Krista Van Vleet (June 2026)

Sta Mrtina Duncan, RgistrarEmy Farley, Wilay and ER Product Mnager,Peter Wiley, Senior Director of Institutional Research and Data Warehousing

Students: Anika Sen '26 Victor Ferreira Souza '26

Ex officio: Andy Birenzi, Senior Director of Enterprise Systems Bernadette Williams-Looper, Workday Senior Project Manager

Faculty Governance Committees

Committee on Appointments, Promotion and Tenure

Faculty: Mark Battle (June 2024) Brock Clarke (June 2025), **chair for spring 2024** Michele LaVigne (June 2025) Kristi Olson (June 2025) Samuel P. Putnam (June 2025), **chair for fall 2023**

Ex officio: Jennifer Scanlon, Senior Vice President and Dean for Academic Affairs

Committee on Governance and Faculty Affairs

Faculty: Jack R. Bateman (June 2025) Danielle H. Dube (June 2024), **chair** Salar Michael Mohandesi (June 2024) Carrie Scanga (June 2026) Jeffrey S. Selinger (June 2024) Jay Sosa (June 2025) *Ex officio:* Jennifer Scanlon, Senior Vice President and Dean for Academic Affairs Safa Zaki, President

Other Roles

Dale Syphers, Faculty Parliamentarte

Lectures and Concerts Committee

Faculty: Hiroo Aridome (Dec 2023; fall semester only) Adanna Jones (June 2026; starting in spring semester) Jill Pearlman (June 2026) Tricia Welsch, (June 2026), **chair**

Staff:

Nate Hintze, Director of Student Activities and the David Saul Smith Union

Students: Aden Ho '25 Kaya Patel '26

Ex officio: Cassandra Braun, Curator of the Bowdoin College Museum of Art Stacy DeHart, Campus Scheduler of Events and Summer Programs Saari Greylock, Associate Director of Academic Budgets and Financial Planning Whitney S. Hogan, Director of Residential Life Christine P. Sullivan, Associate Director of Stewardship

Student Fellowships Committee

Faculty:
Karime Castillo (June 2024)
Ireri Chávez-Bárcenas (June 2026)
Michael Danahy (June 2026)
Eileen Johnson (June 2024)
Patricia Jones (June 2026)
Tracy M. McMullen (June 2024)
James J. Mullen (June 2025), chair spring 2024
Samia Rahimtoola (December 2023)
Davis R. Robinson (June 2025), chair fall 2023

Staff:

Aimee Eldridge, Laboratory Instructor in Biology Dana Peirce, Laboratory Instructor in Physics Erin Valentino, Associate Librarian for Research, Instruction and Outreach

Ex officio:

Rachel Beane, Associate Dean for Faculty Recruitment and Pre-Major Advising Lisa Hardej, Assistant Dean of Case Management Sarah Seames, Director of the McKeen Center for the Common Good Cindy Stocks, Director of Student Fellowships and Research

Appeals, Grievances, Misconduct Committees

Faculty Appeals and Grievances Committee

Faculty: Charles Dorn (June 2024) Christopher R. Heurlin (June 2025) Ann Kibbie (June 2026) Barry Logan (June 2026) Robert G. Morrison (June 2025) Ingrid Nelson (June 2026)

Conduct Review Board

Tess Chakkalakal (June 2026) Connie Chiang (June 2024) Jack O'Brien (June 2026) Matthew F. Stuart (June 2025)

Students: Janet Briggs '25 Oscar Calle '25 Avery Cutler '26 Kevin Darko '26 Stephen Houser, Senior Director of Academic Technology and Consulting Melissa Kapocius, Visitor Experience and Operations Manager for Admissions Sylvia Bosco, Academic Department Coordinator for Chemistry and Biochemistry Lesley Levy, Director of Student Accessibility Cassaundra Lindberg, Associate Registrar Matthew Orlando, Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration and Treasurer, **chair** Mike Ranen, Associate Dean for Academic Administration Lisa Rendall, Director of Residential and Housing Operations Coral Sheldon-Hess, Library Web Services Developer Jennifer Snow, Academic Technology Consultant Tama Spoerri, Vice President for Human Resources Kristin Steinman, Workers' Compensation and Wellness Administrator Jen Swanda, Director of Communications for Digital Strategy and Operations Alice Wiercinski, Associate Director, Athletic Coaches

Students: Sophia Pantzer '24 Regine Pierre-Louis '25

Benefits Advisory Committee

Faculty: Erik J. Nelson (June 2025) Shana Starobin (June 2026)

Staff:
Kelly Irving, Administrative Coordinator, Security
Alex Libby, Senior Systems & Data Analyst
Alex Lloyd, Head Coach, Men's Basketball
Michelle E. McDonough, Library Operations & Budget Administrator
Matthew Orlando, Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration and Treasurer, chair

Ex officio: Mary C. Cote, Assistant Director of Benefits and Absence Management Tama Spoerri, Vice President for Human Resources

Bowdoin College Museum of Art Advisory Council

Faculty: Pamela Fletcher (June 2026) Michael J. Kolster (June 2025) Jennifer Taback (June 2025)

Staff: Jennifer Scanlon, Senior Vice President and Dean for Academic Affairs Scott Meiklejohn, Interim Senior Vice President for Planning & Alumni Relations or delegate

Students: Darcy Weber '26

Ex officio:

Anne and Frank Goodyear, Co-Directors of the Bowdoin College Museum of Art, **co-chairs** Cassandra Braun, Curator of the Bowdoin College Museum of Art

Others: Michele G. Cyr Paula M. Wardynski

Committee for Faculty Diversity and Inclusion

Faculty: Charlotte Daniels (June 2024) Paul Franco (June 2025) David M. Gordon (June 2024), **chair** Zach Rothschild (December 2023; fall semester only) Shu-chin Tsui (February 2024) Mary Lou Zeeman (June 2024)

Ex officio:

*Amy Johnson (June 2024) *

Staff: Rene Bernier, Manager of the Bowdoin Science Center and Laboratory Safety Martha Mixon, Instrument Support Technician

Ex officio: Charly Wojtysiak, Director of Environmental Health and Safety

Working Group for 2023-2024

Working Group on Developing the New Pre-Major Advising Model

Rachel Beane, Associate Dean for Faculty Recruitment and Pre-Major Advising, co-chair

Faculty: Sean Barker (June 2024) Katherine Dauge-Roth (June 2024), **co-chair** Shruti Devgan (June 2024) Rob Sobak (June 2024)

Staff:

Rebecca Banks, Administrative Coordinator, Office of the Dean for Academic Affairs Martina Duncan, Registrar Melissa Quinby, Senior Associate Dean of Students and Director of First-Year Experience

Students: Ari Bersch '25 Ruby Fyffe '26

Ex officio: Juli Haugen, Digital Accessibility Consultant Janie Porche, Creative Director, Communications

Trustee Committees with Faculty Representation

Representatives to the Meetings of the Board of Trustees

Faculty: Carrie Scanga (June 2024) Jeffrey S. Selinger (June 2024)

 Students:

 Paul Wang '24

 Anyi Sun '26

 (ccce tTw -0.02 Tc -0(c) 16 BDC (tTw -0.04 ITd[J)-2.3 (a)-16 (ni)6.2 (e)-14.6 (un)00 Tc-3.12 (n

Students: Emily Simons '24 Will Surks '24 (alt.)

Representatives to the Trustee Committee on Inclusion

Faculty: Allison Cooper (June 2024)

Students: Sachin Maharaj '24 Amory Malin '24 (alt.)

Representative to the

Support Staff Advocacy Committee (SSAC) Steering Committee

Staff: